Welcome

This is a superior boutique accommodation of more than 20 years
where people arrive as guests and leave as friends. We hope you’ll feel
the same as you enjoy quality, warm and professional hospitality here.
Tasmania, at its best!

KEY FEATURES

- Large ensuited rooms, serviced daily
-
Free Wi-Fi
-
A one-minute walk to the beach + three minutes to cafés, restaurants and shops

- overlooking the ocean. More info here!
-
Log fires in cooler weather
- Late checkout

Our History

Hanlon House was built in 1904. Tenders were invited by Rev. W. O’Dwyer for the erection of a weatherboard presbytery at Stanley on Tues 17 Jan.

 

One of the most gifted and loveable pastors of Circular Head was Father Edward Patrick Hanlon who gave 21 years (1948 to 1969) of priestly service to the people of this district in which he had been reared. Father Hanlon’s school teacher father was transferred to Circular Head soon after the death of his 10-month-old little daughter, Mollie Jane. His wife, Alice Rose had died in child birth with Mollie. This all happened at Franklin in the south of the State. Edward Patrick (Father Pat to all the locals) was born at Franklin on 21 Feb, 1911. Father Hanlon was a brilliant student and went to Rome to be ordained in 1934.

 

In 1969, Father Hanlon vacated the presbytery as it was in poor condition and moved to Smithton. The house was vacant for seven years and used by the local kids as a drop-in centre. It was sold in 1975 to Corrie and Wally Santalab who did a quick renovation.

 

Former owners, The Wells family, purchased the house in 1978 and it was in a fairly run down condition. Graham and Maxine arrived with two children, Wanita and Ritchie, and later Hayley and Melanie were born. They re-roofed the house in 1990 and in the next year began alterations and renovations.

 

In March 1994, they named the home 'HANLON HOUSE' after Father Hanlon. During December 1997 they pulled down the existing garage and rebuilt a new one on the rear of the block. The following year they began the structural work of our new extension. They also purchased an adjoining block next to the church.

 

The third bedroom and dining room was opened on December 1st, 1998 and our fourth room, which is upstairs, was commissioned on December 26th 1998. A year later after some of their family moved away from the family home, they opened an upstairs suite in the attic. This suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom and a lounge room. A second bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed now accompanies this suite. Stone gardens, barbecue, out-door fire place and car parking was completed in 2000/2001.

 

Hanlon House has a rich history and long tenure as a premier boutique style accommodation in Stanley. Our ethos has always been one of warm and generous hospitality, with many guests turned into friends over the years, and from all pockets of the globe. It has been a highlight of the Tasmanian tourist calendar and plans to be one of the region’s premier boutique accommodation establishments for all to enjoy for many years to come. We hope you feel the same way about this stunning property. Welcome!

 

Phone: (03) 6458 1149

6 Marshall St, Stanley Tasmania 7331

Hanlon House

This is a superior boutique accommodation of more than 20 years
where people arrive as guests and leave as friends. We hope you’ll feel
the same as you enjoy quality, warm and professional hospitality here.
Tasmania, at its best!

Our History

Hanlon House was built in 1904. Tenders were invited by Rev. W. O’Dwyer for the erection of a weatherboard presbytery at Stanley on Tues 17 Jan.

 

One of the most gifted and loveable pastors of Circular Head was Father Edward Patrick Hanlon who gave 21 years (1948 to 1969) of priestly service to the people of this district in which he had been reared. Father Hanlon’s school teacher father was transferred to Circular Head soon after the death of his 10-month-old little daughter, Mollie Jane. His wife, Alice Rose had died in child birth with Mollie. This all happened at Franklin in the south of the State. Edward Patrick (Father Pat to all the locals) was born at Franklin on 21 Feb, 1911. Father Hanlon was a brilliant student and went to Rome to be ordained in 1934.

 

In 1969, Father Hanlon vacated the presbytery as it was in poor condition and moved to Smithton. The house was vacant for seven years and used by the local kids as a drop-in centre. It was sold in 1975 to Corrie and Wally Santalab who did a quick renovation.

 

Former owners, The Wells family, purchased the house in 1978 and it was in a fairly run down condition. Graham and Maxine arrived with two children, Wanita and Ritchie, and later Hayley and Melanie were born. They re-roofed the house in 1990 and in the next year began alterations and renovations.

 

In March 1994, they named the home 'HANLON HOUSE' after Father Hanlon. During December 1997 they pulled down the existing garage and rebuilt a new one on the rear of the block. The following year they began the structural work of our new extension. They also purchased an adjoining block next to the church.

 

The third bedroom and dining room was opened on December 1st, 1998 and our fourth room, which is upstairs, was commissioned on December 26th 1998. A year later after some of their family moved away from the family home, they opened an upstairs suite in the attic. This suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom and a lounge room. A second bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed now accompanies this suite. Stone gardens, barbecue, out-door fire place and car parking was completed in 2000/2001.

 

Hanlon House has a rich history and long tenure as a premier boutique style accommodation in Stanley. Our ethos has always been one of warm and generous hospitality, with many guests turned into friends over the years, and from all pockets of the globe. It has been a highlight of the Tasmanian tourist calendar and plans to be one of the region’s premier boutique accommodation establishments for all to enjoy for many years to come. We hope you feel the same way about this stunning property. Welcome!

 

This is a superior boutique accommodation of more than 20 years where people arrive as guests and leave as friends. We hope you’ll feel the same as you enjoy quality, warm and professional hospitality here. Tasmania, at its best!

KEY FEATURES

- Large ensuited rooms, serviced daily -

- Free Wi-Fi -

- Log fires in cooler weather -

- Late checkout -

- Off-street parking -

- A one-minute walk to the beach -
Three minutes to cafés,
restaurants and shops

 Our History

Hanlon House was built in 1904. Tenders were invited by Rev. W. O’Dwyer for the erection of a weatherboard presbytery at Stanley on Tues 17 Jan.

 

One of the most gifted and loveable pastors of Circular Head was Father Edward Patrick Hanlon who gave 21 years (1948 to 1969) of priestly service to the people of this district in which he had been reared. Father Hanlon’s school teacher father was transferred to Circular Head soon after the death of his 10-month-old little daughter, Mollie Jane.
His wife, Alice Rose had died in child birth with Mollie. This all happened at Franklin in the south of the State. Edward Patrick (Father Pat to all the locals) was born at Franklin on 21 Feb, 1911. Father Hanlon was a brilliant student and went to Rome to be ordained in 1934.

 

In 1969, Father Hanlon vacated the presbytery as it was in poor condition
and moved to Smithton. The house was vacant for seven years and used by the local kids as a drop-in centre. It was sold in 1975 to Corrie and Wally Santalab who did a quick renovation.

 

Former owners, The Wells family, purchased the house in 1978 and it was in a fairly run down condition. Graham and Maxine arrived with two children, Wanita and Ritchie, and later Hayley and Melanie were born. They re-roofed the house in 1990 and in the next year began alterations and renovations.

In March 1994, they named the home 'HANLON HOUSE' after Father Hanlon. During December 1997 they pulled down the existing garage and rebuilt a new one on the rear of the block. The following year they began the structural work of our new extension. They also purchased an adjoining block next to the church.

 

The third bedroom and dining room was opened on December 1st, 1998 and our fourth room, which is upstairs, was commissioned on December 26th 1998. A year later after some of their family moved away from the family home, they opened an upstairs suite in the attic. This suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom and a lounge room. A second bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed now accompanies this suite. Stone gardens, barbecue, out-door fire place and car parking was completed in 2000/2001.

 

Hanlon House has a rich history and long tenure as a premier boutique style accommodation in Stanley. Our ethos has always been one of warm and generous hospitality, with many guests turned into friends over the years, and from all pockets of the globe. It has been a highlight of the Tasmanian tourist calendar and plans to be one of the region’s premier boutique accommodation establishments for all to enjoy for many years to come. We hope you feel the same way about this stunning property. Welcome!